Archive 2013

AAA Members and Supporters Win at the NSW AIA Awards


The 2013 Australian Institute of Architects NSW Architecture Awards were presented on the 27 June. The Australian Architecture Association congratulates it's NSW members and supporters whose work has been recognised with awards.

Congratulations to the AAA's founding corporate member Francis-Jones Morehen Thorp (FJMT). Their project the Darling Harbour Quarter (in association with Aspect Studios, Lend Lease, E.G.O. Group and Davenport Campbell) was one of the top winners this year. The project has received multiple awards including the Lloyd Rees Award for Urban Design, the Sir Arthur G. Stephenson Award for Commercial Architecture, the Milo Dunphy Award for Sustainable Architecture and the City of Sydney Lord Mayor's Prize. They also received a commendation under the Residential Architecture - Multiple Housing awards for their project Little Bay.

Another founding corporate member BVN, now BVN Donovan Hill, won the John Verge Award for Interior Architecture for their project The Kinghorn Cancer Centre. They also received the Blacket Prize for regional architecture for the Charles Sturt University National Life Sciences Hub.

Corporate member Bates Smart won an Architecture Award in the Residential Architecture - Multiple Housing category for their project Iglu Central.

In the Residential Architecture - Houses (new) category, congratulations to AAA members Steve Koolloos of Marsh Cashman Koolloos Architects (MCK) for the Flipped House and Tony Chenchow of Chenchow Little Architects for Stewart House. Both firms received an Architecture Award.

AAA member Virginia Kerridge Architect won the Interior Architecture Award for her Lilyfield Warehouse.

Well done to former AAA volunteer Phillip Thalis. His firm Hill Thalis Architecture and Urban Projects received a commendation for their project The Magestic, under the Residential Architecture - Multiple Housing wards, along with a Heritage Architecture commendation. In association with Laura Harding of Architecture Australia, the firm also received the Adrian Ashton Prize for Writing and Criticism.

Former AAA Committee members have also received awards. Richard Johnson's firm Johnson Pilton Walker (JPW) won the Robert Woodward Award for Small Project Architecture for the Art Gallery of NSW Forecourt Upgrade. Angelo Candalepas' firm Candalepas Associates won the Aaron Bolot Award for Residential Architecture - Multiple Housing for their project 29-35 Prince Street, Cronulla.

Finally congratulations to AAA supporters Carter Williamson Architects. Their residence Cowshed House, recently featured on our May AAA Open House Residential Bus Tour, won a Residential Architecture Award - Houses (Alterations and Additions), a Sustainable Architecture Award and a Colorbond Award for Steel Architecture Commendation.


  • Article: Vanessa Couzens
  • Photograph: Cowshed House by Carter Williamson Architects.
  • Photographer: Vanessa Couzens